New Devices Push Brands To Develop Mobile Websites

We talk about consumers with their devices on the go all the time. With the release of a new device on what seems to be a monthly basis, it could be unclear on whether or not a company should create a traditional website or a mobile website. The importance of a proper website has been proven to be a key factor for consumers returning to your site.

iPad & Friends

iPad & Friends (Photo credit: Yutaka Tsutano)

Creating the proper website experience is not only important for a retail company, but for any industry.  Sixty-four percent of smartphone owners are now using their mobile devices to shop online[1] and believe that mobile helps their shopping experience.

The release of the iPad mini, having a small seven-inch screen, can further blur the lines between mobile websites and traditional websites. Most tablet screen sizes vary between seven and 12 inches, where a mobile site would be best suited.

iPad Mini

iPad Mini Tablet: Visual Tour

The statistics for consumer’s behavior, in terms of using a mobile website, are staggering. Seventy-one percent of smartphone users that see TV, press or online ads do a mobile search for more information. And, according to a study conducted by Compuware, 57% of users would not recommend a business with a bad mobile site.

Traditional web can come into play if the intended audience prefers larger tablet screens or laptops. A one-column mobile website design would not be appropriate for a 15”, or larger, screen because the width for a traditional screen exceeds that of the height. These measurements prevent a one-column mobile design from fully utilizing the space on the screen whereas a traditional 3-column site design allows the viewer to see more across the page in one screen without having to scroll.

Providing what consumers want goes beyond optimizing their purchasing power, but tailoring a proper user experience that can prevent a loss of consumers and increase loyalty. By creating both traditional and mobile designs increases your odds of capturing your audience through their channel of choice ending in a successful user experience: purchase.

Waterstone's in-store ad for their mobile website

Waterstone’s in-store ad for their mobile website (Photo credit: ianfogg42)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About torreyb

Torrey Burchak: I have a passion for education and am constantly searching for ways to expand my skills. My recent interests have led me to the wonderful realm of psychology, which I am planning to take this interest one step further by heading back to school, yet again. UT Undergrad Graduation 2008 Professional Background: My references from studies at U.T. along with strong working relationships can attest to my value as an honest hard-working individual. In my past role as MarketingDirector I have increased the company’s traffic, exposure and occupancy more than 30% in six months compared to prior years. When leasing I had the highest renewal rates by 10%. Through networking (social networking & partnerships) I have increased the marketing reach with a reduced budget from the previous years. Focus group surveys have established a higher caliber of event activities, which has resulted in greater resident retention and satisfaction. My client relation roles have allowed me to work with fortune 500 companies raising their annual revenues by more than $3 million with a single campaign implementation. Sometimes it's a thankless job, but I love the relationships I've made and the remarkable statistics and awards I've gained in my wake. Location of Yalamlam is ES.ofJeddah (Photo credit: Wikipedia) With my history of international travel I am focused on finding my niche in the marketing and healthcare industry. Being a UT Alumni, I am particularly interested in a competitive industry and diverse position such as my latest role as a creative and client relations manager. UT Austin offered a diverse community that stimulated my affinity to a multi cultural background. My experiences living overseas bring an understanding of interacting across cultural boundaries and the challenges that they present. These experiences are analogous to the need for building consensus and alliances within the well-known diversity of the marketing industry. Think (Photo credit: Wikipedia) Currently: My new direction in life and recent roles has allowed me to expand my horizons creatively and diversely. I will be furthering my studies, but I will simultaneously be working - like I said, I love furthering my skills. Montblanc (Photo credit: Freimut) My Blog: As a writer I have as many different styles as my colorful personality. I may decide to change it up every once in a while from a personal or colloquial standpoint to a noted more serious tone depending on how I feel. Enjoy and let me know what works best for you… Contact Info: tburchak@yahoo.com Partial Online Portfolio (contact me for more)

Leave a comment